Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

To all bands playing primarily ORIGINALS...help!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Steve Harris Is, Feb 26, 2006.

1. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    I am involved in a debate/discussion here with my fledgling band and it centers around us playing primarily covers vs. doing mainly originals.

I started playing bass about 9 months ago, and while I feel I'm coming along and I can play about 25 songs, etc I am far from great (yet!). Anyway, the band wanted to start working on originals soon after we got together and we have put together in less than 5 months about 6-8 originals, 4 of which are recorded and all of which are pretty decent tunes, some beter than others. I really enjoy writing bass lines and recording this original stuff, however my concern is finding venues to focus on our music mainly as opposed to a heavy mix of covers.

I live in Central CT and it's cover band nirvana here, which I DO NOT want to become on a full time basis, but I am a realist and I know so many major bands have gone the covers route initially to gain a fan base and then slowly introduced originals as a way to finally transition to those fully. My bandmates don't want to do this and I am just worried about finding places to play and building/sustaining an audience, as well as improving as a player, which I think playing covers assists in.

How did you original bands start out? How many shos per month did you play as you began to focus on originals? Distance traveled? Advice? Thoughts?

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Drive to Western Ma and play up here.

3. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    My drummer always talks about Worcester but that's not WM really...where are you talking about? Any specific clubs?