To all Bassist: regarding effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by cryred, Sep 24, 2004.

1. cryred

Sep 24, 2004
    what effects do you usually like using in your music? i am more apt to having less than more. i currently use a clean sound, chorus sound and a more gritty sound with my GK Diesel Dawg... I'm new to the bass so i was wondering in your opinion what are a few other must have effects sounds? it seems that less is more but i am not sure... let me know... i'm a rookie wanting to learn.... :ninja:
  2. Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    Cant beat some good compression. :)
  3. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    It is all a matter of personal preference. I generally don't use effects in a band, but there are times when the song requires it. Some people use effects on just about every song. Do what you and your band like.
  4. The Reff

The Reff

Feb 11, 2004
    I play some solo chord things so I use some reverb and delay. In bands I mostly use Envelope Filter and Octaver - and thinking about getting some chorus. :)
  5. BassGod

Jan 21, 2004
    Distortion and wah for live solos, and in one of my band's songs. I also use chorus for some arpeggios and occasionaly I like a bit of compression. :cool:

Graeme :bassist:
  6. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

As other posts have subtlley implied, it's not the effect but how you use them.

IMO and IME, it takes taste and discretion.

For instance, listen to Slash (or whatever his name is), with Velvet Revolver. Even though he is not a bassist, his sound is so dependent on his wah pedal I can hardly keep down my Cheerios.

My point is --- don't let your effects become a crutch.
  7. I really enjoy using the T-WAH on my BOSS ME-50B. I use it for one complete song and kick it in for a bass and drum break down part which really turns some heads.