1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To Ampeg SVT4 Pro users: Question the mono/stereo outputs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by baxter_x, Jun 4, 2014.

1. baxter_x

baxter_x

Nov 27, 2013
    EU
    Hi all,

I'm a SVT4 Pro owner since 2008. I love this, amp. Still, I tried something interesting too me yesterday:
    I usually use it in mono mode. That mean I use the speakon/jack cable provided with the amp by Ampeg. The cable is plugged in the speakon mono bridge plug.
    Now, I tried to use a "standard" speakon cable, still in mono mode, but this time plugged in on of the two stereo plug. And guess what? I the amp was still delivering the same sound an power.

Have you guys tried or could try this and give me a feedback?
    It looks like it is possible to use a standard speakon cable in mono mode.
    Then it would be possible to use the other plug for another cab to have two cabs in parallel in mono mode.

The ampeg manual doesn't say anything about that.

Feedbacks will be appreciated ;)

2. Bass 45

Bass 45

Jun 23, 2011
    Tempe, Arizona
    I have used just the A or the B amp (because it is plenty of power), but never with the button in.

I will check it out it tomorrow (when nobody is sleeping).

3. baxter_x

baxter_x

Nov 27, 2013
    EU
    So you mean you have always used it in stereo mode right? Not mono?
    But you're right, the amp is so powerful that even in stereo mode you still have plenty of power ;)

4. baxter_x

baxter_x

Nov 27, 2013
    EU
    Well... It seems like I might be right.
    Check that video on youtube:

At 3:50, Dino seems to confirm what I have tried.

5. Bass 45

Bass 45

Jun 23, 2011
    Tempe, Arizona