Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

To any Hindu TB member or anyone knowledgable about the religion, I need your advice.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by electricdemon3, Mar 18, 2003.

1. electricdemon3

electricdemon3

Jul 28, 2000
    I met a girl at school I have fallen madly in love with. We talk all the time. We started talking about our religious beliefs and she told me her dad is a Hindu. I found that odd because she is white. I asked her if her dad is Indian and she said no. I am no expert of Hinduism or anything, but the religion does fascinate me a little and I have read one book about it, called Windows into the Infinite, by Barbara Powell. According to her, one must be born into Hinduism. I asked the girl I like about that and she said that the Temple they go to doesn't believe in this. She told me a little more about this Temple and said that some people there smoke weed sometimes in their rituals. I have also never heard of this being a part of Hinduism. So, I got home today and looked up what I thought was a web site of the Temple she goes to, based on where she told me it is located, and to my surprise, the head of this Temple is a white guy.

Anyway, what I was wondering is does this sound like a legitimate Temple? Are there Hindu Temples out there in America that are frauds? Also, is it true that you cannot convert into Hinduism?

It all sounded peculiar to me, based on the little bit I have read about Hinduism, anyone's comments/insight would be greatly appreciated.

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    If your interested in the girl and curious about her temple, the next time it comes up, tell her your curious and ask if she ever takes friends/guests to worship - maybe you could go check it out?

3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga