1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

To buy or not to buy a Five strings?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by drcor, Apr 10, 2006.

1. drcor

drcor

Aug 13, 2005
    Verona - Italy
    Hi from Verona, Italy.
    I'm going to play in two different tribute bands:
    A Jamiroquai tribute band
    A Toto tribute band.
    I'm 39 years old, I have been playing bass since 1981 and I'm a professional bass player.
    I only used 4 strings and actually I got:
    A Musicman Stingray 4
    A Fender Jazz Usa 4 with S1
    A Laurus 4 (is a professional expensive bass built by an italian liuther)
    I did my homework and I read a lot of forum discussions, articles and so on...I noticed,for example, that Mike Porcaro (Toto) plays live with Peavey cirrus 5, Paul Turner (Jamiroquai) with Stingray 5 and F-bass and other good bass players often play or have in their arsenal a five strings.
    In your opinion:
    For professional reasons (in general) is a five strings a Must Have?
    In my case?
    I like a lot the tone of all my basses but what type of 5 strings bass reproduce the jazz bass tone?
    Any suggestion?
    Thank You very much!:hyper:

2. Keep playing 4-strings.

3. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY

A five string jazz bass.

4. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    No. Not a "must-have"...

Not necessarily. Depends on how much of the material you cover was recorded using a five-string - specifically using any of the first five notes of the "B" string: B, C, C#, D, D#...

Try Sadowsky, Mike Lull, Lakland, Celinder, among others. And of course a Fender Jazz 5...

MM

5. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Gold Supporting Member