to Guitar or not to guitar?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by xb100, Feb 10, 2005.

1. xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Hey guy's my instructor for bass told me last night that if i was still interested for bass lessons, that i should look for someone who does bass only ( he does both guitar and bass but is mainly guitar) And i was thinking, ive been playing bass for almost 4 years. So why not learn guitar?

I've got an acustic here at my house i can jam on and i really like my instructor alot and dont feel like changing and getting used to someone new.

What do you guys think??

Do you think i should pick up a new instrument and broaden my horizon in musical instruments??
  2. Nadav

Nov 13, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    I say... if you feel like it might be fun, go for it! Try it out for a little while, and see if you like it. Who knows, you may discover that... er, nevermind. :bag:

3. buzzbass

buzzbass Shoo Shoo Retarded Flu !

Apr 23, 2003
  4. bass-shy

Jan 11, 2005
    I think you should ABSOLETELY learn guitar. For that matter, learn to play drums, sax and piano too. The best way to understand the role of bass in a band is to learn and understand everyone elses roles as well. I started out as a guitar player and the knowledge I picked up from that helps me to see the big picture. My Martin acoustic is also the best songwriting tool in my arsenal. You can bash me for being a traitor, but I don't see how it could be a bad choice. Good luck with whatever you decide.
  5. Nadav

Nov 13, 2004
    Atlanta, GA

In fact, just earlier today I thought that I should take a couple of drum lessons to get a feel for it (I've never played a drumset in my life).
  6. Bard2dbone

Aug 4, 2002
    Arlington TX
    Mostly +1