1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To open mic or not to open mic...

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by patplaysbass, Jun 27, 2012.

1. Just got invited by some friends to a local restaurant that puts on open mics every Wednesday. They want me to play, I have MAYBE 5 minutes worth of solo material that's performance ready. I've never done an open mic anywhere before, is that a normal amount of time? Too short? Should I do it even though I wasn't expecting a gig in the next half hour?

2. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.
    Owner/Designer &Toaster Tech Passinwind Electronics
    I play 1-3 open mics a week usually. At most open mics there are plenty of opportunities to back up other acts on bass, and little expectation that you'll know the material flawlessly. You could do do that, plus your 5 minute solo. That's my usual mode, anyway...;)

3. I like bass as much as the next guy but a 5min bass solo, not so much. :D

On the other hand you might be a singer songwriter guitarist in your spare time? 3 or 5 min of whatever you got is fine. Tune your guitar off stage please!

I would also take the bass rig along and have a fun time jamming out, if it's that kind of open mic.

4. I have never played a solo at an open mic. I either show up with
    a band to try out new material or jam with other musicians. What
    is a bass solo anyway?

5. I'm a classical music geek, so I've been learning some Bach cello/violin solos on bass. I ended up going and playing a few of those and it went really well! I also tried my hand at some of Portrait of Tracy, which could have been better. But everyone was impressed that I even knew who Jaco was, let alone could play his stuff. Overall rating: successful!

6. Passinwind

Dec 3, 2003