To Play Or Not To Play

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by greekbassist, Jan 5, 2006.

1. greekbassist

Jan 5, 2006
    Hello Everyone,

I am not sure if I am posting in the right area, however, I am new to this forum.

Let me explain my situtation. I am a female guitarist and have been playing guitar for 8 years. I can play rhythm and lead guitar.

It was always my dream to be a hot shot female guitarist in a local band. I love all kinds of music and practice all the time.

I have never played professional but ocassionally play with other musician pals of mine.

Okay so to make the longs story short. I really want to play in a band and someday play professional alot of people tell me I should go professional and that I am wasting my talents playing to the four walls of my bedroom...

So, I have been looking in our local musician paper for guitarist wanted...Well, guess what I keep finding?

Bassist player wanted, GOOD bass player need, Dedicated Bass player wanted badly, etc.

What? What has happened to all the guitar spots? A fellow musician friend of mine who also taught me to play guitar told me that if I really want to work as a musician I should learn to play bass.

Okay, I am willing to learn bass, and to be truthfully honest I can play with my fingers...I don't use a pick (I dabbled a little in flamenco guitar) and have no problems using my index and middle finger to pluck bass...

I really want to work as a musician, however, my stupid eqotisic guitar personality tells me that if I switch over to playing bass I would be comprimising to an easier instrument.

Now wait before you all throw tomatoes at me :bag: I KNOW BASS IS NOT AN EASY INSTRUMENT TO MASTER! But it's the ego guitarist in me that is afraid if I switch over what would my family and friends, think....

I know that shouldn't stop me from wanting to play....But, as stupid as this may sound I feel like my idenity is a guitarist and that everyone knows me as a guitarist..