To six-string, or not to six string...that is the Q.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Greekbass, Oct 1, 2005.

1. Greekbass

Apr 14, 2004
    Los Angeles
    My bass brutha's and sisters. I'm a freelancer/doubler in L.A. I currently own a '77 Jazz, a 63' P-bass, and fretted and fretless 5-string Sadowskys. I'm a jazz cat and a blues cat, and debating whether or not to purchase a six-string to add to the collection (I'd say "to complete" the collection, but we all know that will never happen!!!) Thoughts???
  2. I say do it. A 6 opens up some pretty cool harmonic possibilities and allows you to take on more of a chordal-based role, if you're into that. Anything you can do on a 4 or 5 can be done on the 6 as well, naturally.
  3. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    Do it!!

What are you thinking of getting?
  4. Arthur U. Poon

Arthur U. Poon

Jan 30, 2004
    SLC, Utah -USA-
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Basses
    Do it. The 6-string bass has done a lot to help me break free of my self-imposed limitations.
  5. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Boston, MA
    One of the things that I can say about the 6 is that it will definately open up your playing on the 4 and 5 even more. It allows you to look at the instrument in a very different way. For me the answer was simple because I heard things in my head that required the low B and high C strings.
  6. I found the same - the six opened up a lot of harmonic possibilities that just did not occur to me on 4. Now when I play 4 string, I am much more creative, using more of the fretboard to play similar harmonic ideas that were learnt more easily on 6
  7. +1
  8. Fawkes007

Sep 13, 2005
    SF Bay Area

Listen to a lot of Anthony Jackson and John Pattitucci and Phil Lesh and see if that's what kind of thing you are after.

I don't dig playing six string at all, but in the hands of the right person, it's wonderful.
  9. Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005