To slap or not to slap ...

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Norre, Mar 21, 2010.

1. Norre

Norre

Jan 5, 2001
    Antwerp, Belgium
    I started playing DB a couple of years ago but I never really learned how to slap. I'd really like to learn how to play like Willie Dixon, Bill Black, etc... So, I ordered some gut strings and will take my bass to a luthier to make some set-up adjustments.
    Now, I've never really played a bass that was used and set-up for slapping. I heared the bridge is usually higher than normal. I'm a bit worried that after the setup it will be impossible to play any non-slap basslines without the strings hitting the fingerboard. So I guess my question is if you slappers still can play normal pizz on your bass when you want to? I'm talking about fast walkings, practicing Simandl (I don't bow), etc ...

Thanks,

KN

2. Gearhead43

Gearhead43

Nov 25, 2007
    NorCal
    I play pizz about 50% of the time, with gut strings and a relatively flat bridge profile. Not an arco player though.

The thing is, not all slappers like the same setup, same as any other bassist. Some like high string height, some like very low. Some like a high arc on the bridge, some like a flatter profile.

In a nutshell, being a competent slap player is more in the individual technique (and lots of practice) than anything, and there are no "rules" really.

Some slappers even use regular Spirocore mediums and do just fine - I hate those, but a very well known slapper (Djorde from Fishtank Ensemble) uses them and is great. He must have fingers like steel.

More common would be a low-tension string setup - like gut strings, Solo steels tuned to EADG, or nylon strings.

You should be able to keep your bridge profile the same - for your arco playing - and just try a lower tension string setup. I would suggest trying some Solo gauge steels for the most versatile setup if arco is a big factor (not sure how much arco you play).

3. Norre

Norre

Jan 5, 2001