1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To the female bass players out there

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Chickibass, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Chickibass

Chickibass

Jan 24, 2008
    Penndel Pa
    I have a question if anyone knows it.. Im new at playing bass and i want to know if the female bass players out there cut there finger nails..weird question i know but i want to know!! lol.. Sometimes they just get in the way so i just might get rid of the regardless.. But its good to here some imput!!:bassist:

2. Admittedly I'm a guy, but I'd say it depends mostly on you, and how you play, i know my fingernails have to stay very short or they get in the way all the time, feels like my fingers are tying into knots or something!

Some guys on here use their nails to create a certain sound, but really, it's up to you. do you value your nails? i know some girls spend upwards of £20 to get their nails done over here... :rolleyes:

3. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    Go on YouTube and search for Lydia on Bass. Lydia is a great bass player and has been posting video or awhile. I bit hard to see, but looks like early videos see still had some nails, but they looks shorter in later videos.

I would say its a personal and playing choice. Longer nails are going to force you to change your technique and flat more on the pad's of your fingers instead of tips. But on 5-string and wide neck basses you'll be doing that anyway. Like most things in music the bottom line is what works for you.

4. Fretlessboy

Fretlessboy

Nov 29, 2007
    St Augustine Florida
    Endorsing artist GENZ BENZ/HERCULES STANDS/XSonics