1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To Tube Or Not To Tube... That Is The Question!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kdogg, Mar 5, 2008.

1. kdogg

kdogg

Nov 13, 2005
    Ohio
    Okay, so my 1987 SVT-HD, 60 of 500, arrived today, and I'm pretty stoked to fire this baby up! :hyper: Unfortunately, my speaker cab is down at my band's practice space, and so I'll have to wait a day or two. I want to take the amp to my local tube guru anyway, before actually gigging with it.

My question is, and be gentle, I'm new to the vintage tube amp thing, is should I have the amp retubed? 3 of the 6550's are the original SLM's, 1 is an RCA 6550, and the remaining 2 are larger than the first 4 and have no markings on them. These last 2 also look almost brand new.

The preamp and driver tubes all look original, accept for two 12AX7's which have been replaced with Groove Tubes.

Any and all suggestions welcome, including replacement tube manufacturers, if that should be the route to go. Thanks guys!

2. Rob Mancini

Rob Mancini Guest

Feb 26, 2008
    I've got tubes older than most people on here in my amps that still test as well as the day they were made. You replace the tubes that need it and leave the tubes that still work in there. The only exception is power tubes. With an SVT, you want two matched sets of three power tubes. If one blows, you should either replace it with one that's matched to the other two, or you should get a set of 3. And since 6550's are very expensive, I'd go with the first option when possible.

I use a place called www.vacuumtubesinc.com because I love NOS tubes and that's pretty much all he sells. But if you get new tubes, it seems like JJ tubes have the hot hand right now.

3. edbass

edbass

Nov 8, 2004
    Good plan.