1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

To use the effects loop or not?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by trackskinz, Apr 3, 2017.

1. trackskinz

trackskinz

Nov 1, 2011
    I have been in the habit of going intrument-pedal board-amp input rather than running my pedals through the effects loop. Does it make a difference?
    I am pretty new to effects, so type slow....

Spidey2112 likes this.
  2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    It can make an audible difference if you're using the pre-amp section of the amp for distortion. If you're using a very clean amp setting it doesn't matter much.

The general rule is to put level based effects (boost, eq, drive, etc) in front and time based effects (delay, reverb, tremolo, etc) in the loop.
    Some effects will sound different depending on where they are. Compression and volume pedals for example.

Try everything in both places. See which you like better.

Spidey2112, Stumbo and trackskinz like this.
  3. The loop is meant for rack mount or line level effects. If you are using pedals, don't use the loop.

I use all sorts of effects - drives, modulations, you name it - and I use 100% of them as pedals and into the main input. I've used them with clean amps and dirty amps. The only time I ever used an effects loop was in the early 90s when I had a Yamaha FX500B that was rack mounted in my SWR Redhead. That was also the only time when I ever had an effects loop sound any good.

Zooberwerx and zapped777 like this.
  4. Some pedals are designed to operate at both instrument and line level, but you'd have to check the manufacturer's specs.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
  5. selowitch

selowitch

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    Can't you use the effects loop for a tuner pedal? I've been doing that for a while and it seems to work fine.