tom petersson?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by jim primate, Dec 3, 2004.

1. jim primate

jim primate bass guitarist.

i'm just getting into cheap trick. anyone have any insight on his gear, what he recorded with, used live, etc.
  2. fenwickbacker

Jun 12, 2004
    New Orleans
    I think he played Hamer alot - and a 12-string at that. Live at Budokan (or however you really spell that) is a good chance to hear the effect - it's more of a low chord than distinctive notes (listen to solo trade-offs in Ain't that a Shame).

I like alot of his lines - a great album is All Shook Up - produced by Sir George Martin.

Recently - he seems to be using more retro looking basses.
  3. OiBass

Apr 9, 2003
    I have a live video of them pre-Budakan-
    He was playing a T-Bird thru SVTs-
    I believed he recorded the early albums w/T-Birds before
    he hooked up w/ Hamer-
    Saw a recent pic w/ him playing Hamer 12-string thru
    SVTs & a Hi-Watt guitar stack for the high-end-
  4. metalbob

Aug 2, 2004
    so california
    :hyper: there is a good article about him and his gear good site about 12 string bass players and there set ups hope that helps
  5. TP started out with Hamer building his 12ers, then moved over to Chandler.

He uses HiWatt and Rickenbacker amps / cabs, tho the Ric gear has been fitted with new speakers.

6. TP is now endorsing Hofners.........

7. Tom Petersson... righteous bassist. I always think of his 12-string bass line on "Gonna Raise Hell" from Dream Police. Pearl Jam's "Jeremy" would not have sounded half as heavy had TP not picked up the 12-string thud staff first! :bassist:
  8. was actually played on an 8 string, which probably makes it sound clearer. Excellent song choice.
  9. NV43345

Apr 1, 2003
    My Tom peterson story. I never met him,but Robin Zander
    used to come in to the music store I worked in. Summer of
    1996 he was in with his wife,Playboy centerfold wife that is.