Tommy The Cat

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by werbo, Nov 11, 2003.

1. werbo

werbo Guest

Sep 8, 2001
    kingston NY
    Can soemone please tell me how to play this...i really onle need help at the tab where it goes 5 on the d string to 5 on the E string then 4 then 3 then 0 while popping the 5 on the D. I'm not too sure about this part...thanks in advance
  2. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    That's not it.

There's a lot more to it. I first tried to learn it via tab too.

It's not going to happen there are ghost notes all over the place and it is too complex to describe in tab.

Just fool around until you can play it. Try watching videos of Les and mimic what he is doing.
  3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    This is how I play it... (4 string)

At least I think that's how I play it, I'm not good at tabbing stuff out. All sixteenth notes except the dyad at the begining and the d at the end. The only real difference in the 6 string version is the dyad at the begining, the E on the d string is played an octave higher. The rest is he does fills on the B string. Entire song is totally doable on a 4, that's how Claypool wrote it. I could tab out the rest, but, meh too much work. I think a lot of the tabs around are accurate actually. I know the guitar pro version is fairly accurate, too notey though. As you can see it's very few notes, mostly dead notes.
  4. The current edition of Bass Guitar, featuring the awful Gene Simmons on the front has a full transcription, the above versions are all wrong...not by much..but wrong all the same.
  5. sunburstbasser

Oct 18, 2003
    The one in Bass Guitar went something like this:

I should have picked that up, it kept going. That slide in the beginning is

Thats all I can remember, I just play the basic riff and mess around with it.