Tone Deaf?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by JWC, Jan 28, 2001.

1. JWC

JWC Banned

Oct 4, 2000
    I was wondering. I have been playing music for several years and have played in a handful of bands, both cover and original. My technique, composing skills, music theory knowledge, playing skills, and all that other good stuff has gotten 100 times better than when I started. But, I cannot play any better or worse by ear than I could many years ago? Why is this? I cannot tell one chord from the other on guitar without being told or getting lucky. I can't even tune my bass by ear either. Am I tone deaf? I really think so.
  2. Dragonlord

Dragonlord Rocks Around The Glocks

Aug 30, 2000
    Greece, Europe
    So,it's not only me!
  3. I know exactly what you mean, and my friends always say that musicians can play by ear, so I just kinda have to agree, but I dont mean it.
  4. JWC

JWC Banned

Oct 4, 2000
    I don't even pretend to play by ear. A guitarist starts playing and I look at him and say, "dude, just tell me what the f*ck you're playing".
  5. virtual.ray

Oct 25, 2000
    Although some folks have an easier time of it than others at first,I believe it can be learned.After all,you get the meaning from the strange bursts of sound that come out of the mouths of the people who talk to you every day,right? IMHO the only difference in most cases is that process of language has been going on longer and more frequently than that of consciously trying to recognize musical notes.Just like the word "cat will always make sense to you no matter who says it,a Major Third always sounds like a Major Third no matter the context/instrument.
  6. NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE