Tone Difference: JB-2 vs L2000

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bgavin, Nov 13, 2004.

1. Would those with experience with both, please post their observations here?

I'd like to hear what users consider the differences between these two basses.

I have lots of experience with: J-fretless, L1500, MIM-P, RB5, and SR5 for comparision purposes.
  2. Oddly enough, I'm trying to figure out which bass will be my #1. The L2000 is my go to bass but the JB-2 I recently picked up is very good also. For the style of music I am playing right now, ultimately either is a good choice.

The JB-2 IMO is like a Jazz tone but a little more agressive. Made to last forever and a finish to drool on.

The L2000 is animal within itself. It is very versatile in tone range. With high output pups and cuts through in a band/live setting. It is everything you have read and probably more.

At this point, if I had to choose one it would go to the L2000 for versatlity. But then again that JB-2 is very good. :p
  3. the sb-2 looks cool. I really dig that "clear orange" color. I think I would like an SB-2 fretless in clear orange with vintage mintage pickguard. or black?

do those any of those MM style pups ahave a toggle that "splits" the coils to make it that "plural" P-bass sound?
  4. gojirin

Oct 11, 2004
    Either play darn nice, but the pu's on the 2000 give you a lot of options. I had a 2500, but let it go as it was too heavy for me. I'm not sure in the time I had it I figured out all the sounds it had...
  5. I've never found anything that can do a P, except a P.

The single MM pickup (my L1500) is a snarling monster, and certainly no P-bass tone. My brief stint with a Stingray-5 was the same. No P-tones lurking in the SR5 either.

I went all down this road with my RB5, and finally off'ed it, because I couldn't get anything but a J tone from it. Even with flats it sounded like a vintage J with flats.