1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tone is in your hands. How/Why?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Esquillama, Jun 14, 2007.

1. I've been gigging for about 17 years now and I'm still struggling with
    this sentiment that your tone comes from your hands.
    I understand that the way you attack the strings, and where you
    attack them can make a difference in the tone ie; brighter near
    bridge, warmer near the neck etc. But what I don't seem to be able
    to get into my head is, how can there be such a large difference
    between how I play a fretted bass, and how another player plays it?

Does it have something to do with the thickness of your fingers?
    Maybe it's the amount of skin you allow to touch the strings?
    I don't really know, but it's been bothering me lately and I thought
    I'd ask here to see if anyone can give me any plain language
    explanation.

I tried a search but didn't really come up with much.
    I don't really come to this section of TalkBass very often so I'm
    sorry if this has already been discussed to death. Like I said, I did
    try a search first and came up empty.

Thanks for any help.

2. middy

middy

Mar 14, 2007
    Texas
    I think a lot of it has to do with your timing, your feel, and how clean your technique is (a little fret rattle, or strings hitting the frets when you dig in, or either hand muting/not-muting, or harmonics from plucking, etc. can have a big effect on your tone).

3. Think of the micromotions involved with playing the bass:

• The exact timing and force of the depression and release of the string with the fretting hand
    • the velocity and acceleration of the plucking hand
    • position of the hand along the length of the string relative to the bridge & pickups
    • the precise angle of attack of the striking finger relative to the body