1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tone issue...maybe a new preamp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Barisaxman, Dec 5, 2006.

1. Barisaxman

Barisaxman Gold Supporting Member

Aug 17, 2005
    Omaha, NE
    Hey everybody, this is really my first thread so go easy on me ;). So anyway, I guess right now I'm a bassist still trying to get the sound I want. Right now my bass of choice is a Yamaha BB605, and I'm playing through a BBE 383 Preamp, QSC RMX850 power amp, to either a Steelsound 2x10 alone or with a single 15 of the same make. I suspect that either my bass choice or preamp are the source of my tone problems. The issue I'm having right now is and exceedingly boomy low end. I playing in a country, classic rock, oldies band and I'm really looking for a nice warm sound that will sit in the mix and not be obnoxious.

What I've noticed/tried: I thought maybe I could get some useful compression to control the low end, but for what it's worth, the compressor on my BBE is junk. I have to set the threshold so high that it either overly compresses everything or won't kick in at all. I don't use the sonic maximizer function at all. In essence I only use the EQ. I have been unable to roll the low end off enough to get desireable results. Any ideas?