Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tone settings on a Fender J-Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Fret Boiler, Apr 21, 2004.

1. Fret Boiler

Fret Boiler Pity World

Apr 12, 2004
    Purdue University
    I have been playing for a few weeks now with a MIJ Jazz and I am having a heck of a time keeping string noise down. I basically have to reduce the tone setting substantially in order to eliminate the noise. I am new to the bass and I expect as my technique improves this will help, but as a noobie, I would like to know what tone setting on a J-bass a decent bassist can use and still sound clean (i.e., with minimal noise)?

I adjust my bridge and neck pots equally if that is relevant.

Thanks

2. tkarter

tkarter

Jan 1, 2003
    kansas
    I typically play my Jazz with the tone rolled about all the way off and the neck pup full while using around a 3/4 setting on the bridge pup. Always sounded good there with the rounds. I now use flats on it Fender 9050 and generally solo the neck pup with the tone rolled all of the way off for most things. I guess I am liking the thumpy stuff.

tk

3. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    if you are referring to the sqeak you here from your fingers when you fret, that is something that I struggle with. I think my technique has cut down on the problem some. If that doesn't, flatwounds will probably sqeak less. Also, I use a spray on string/fretboard cleaner that seems to help also.

4. Fret Boiler

Fret Boiler Pity World

Apr 12, 2004
    Purdue University
    Yeah, I usually go neck and bridge full, but I often back off a little on the neck pup. I also start with the tone rolled back, and then turn it up to the point that I start getting some noise (the noise I get is when I release a fret and hit a new note, or when my fingers slide up or down the strings).