1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tone tutorial?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Fletz, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Fletz

Fletz

Jan 16, 2009
    New Jersey
    Hartke artist
    I've been playing for 28 years, have all pro basses and pro equipment. What I don't have is a complete love of my tone. It always sounds a little thin or too bassy with no definition. I have a Genz 6.0 head and an Ampeg 410hlf cab. I play a Ric, a MIA P and a Ray HH - but mostly the P. I know I have good gear but am still looking for that perfect tone.

I am a realist, I can't give enough info here to have someone say, "oh, do this this and this." And I am willing to put a couple hours in the garage messing with options and settings. Is there a good how to or checklist to read before investing that time? A good video online? Any advice?

Thanks and please don't flame. Just looking for some thoughts as I always feel dissatisfied even though I have top grade gear. (at least for a bar band bassist)

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Can you give examples of bass tones you like, what you're shooting for? Also, how's the EQ on your head set, and where's the tweeter set on the 410HLF?

3. Fletz

Fletz

Jan 16, 2009
    New Jersey
    Hartke artist
    The bass tones I like are varied, depending on the song. I love Geddy's tone on Counterparts (the album, not the tour) - specifically I think "Cut to the Chase" has one of my favorite "usable" Geddy tones. Bassy but with character. A little Green Day-ish (American Idiot era) would be good too. The top end is bright enough to cut through but enough bass to carry the bottom and drive the band.