1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

"Tone" "Wood"

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by alder, Aug 16, 2017.

1. alder

alder Inactive

Feb 17, 2012
    P8151647.JPG
    I got this pretty slab of wood for free ( underneath the Telecaster. ) I need to determine if it is a "tone" "wood", and would therefore have superb properties for luthiery, or if it is just a cutting board. I am not an expert on "tone" "wood", but I understand the "tone" properties of a "wood" can be ascertained by a "tap" "test".

I want to be as scientific as possible about this. I know that the "tone" of an electric guitar is 99% the wood and 1% everything else put together. I have already learned that the size and shape of the piece have nothing to do with the "tone" of the "tap" "test", as long as the "test" is properly administered. So, before embarking on this, I would like to pose a few questions to the high masters of "tone" "wood".

Firstly, which finger should one use for the "tap" "test"? Also, how many "tap" "tests" should one perform in order to objectively perceive the desired result? What happens if a "tap" "test" is performed on a piece of wood that is not "tone"? ( I don't want any accidental fires or explosions! ) And finally, how many "tap" "tests" can be performed on a piece of "tone" "wood" before it is "tapped" out?

There are many experts on "tone" "wood" here at TalkBass, so I hope someone can turnaround some answers for me. Also, I would appreciate if someone could perhaps recommend a fretboard wood with a nice midrange push, that also enhances the lows and the highs.

I ask all "tone" "wood" authorities to share their knowledge and expand on the subject begun here. Perhaps one day this humble thread could become a definitive resource on the subject.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
    rymiraflores, Gazman, Felken and 9 others like this.