1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Too old to play in the band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Steve S, Oct 3, 2013.

1. Steve S

Steve S

Jul 26, 2000
    I started playing with my current group in 2000. We used to gig every weekend but have cut it down to about two per month. As time has gone on, I've often thought about the fact that I'm older than the other guys and I'll probably have to hang up my bass much earlier than them.

We were discussing the song "You Really Got Me," and I told the guys that I saw the Kinks play it in 1965. None of them knew that the Kinks recorded it before Van Halen. The guitar player was 3, the second guitar player was 2 and the drummer was 5 when I was in high school.

All of them are great musicians and it's been fun playing with them but sometimes during conversation, I kind of lose them when talking about "old" history.

I don't know too many guys who are my age and still playing music in bars.

2. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008
    You're never "too old" to play anywhere as long as you're capable of enjoying it. So if you're enjoying it, then keep groovin' brother and don't worry about it!

3. JackBruceFan

JackBruceFan

Apr 29, 2012
    Opinion from an old bass player.... as long as you're having fun...keep on rocking...We're all dead a long time...Enjoy life while ya can.. Rock on.

4. gearhead1972

gearhead1972

Feb 21, 2012
    Kent NY