Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Too old...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Steve S, Dec 15, 2003.

1. Steve S

Steve S

Jul 26, 2000
    I've been playing in bands off and on since 1966...played in clubs, gymnasiums, weddings, anywhere that would hire live musicians. I have a wife and two kids....22 and 18 and have worked at my job for the past 20 years.

At this stage of my life, I am just happy to have the opportunity to play with people who have similar interests. I jam with three different groups of musicians....all of them are the same age....and we play classical rock and other songs that all of us know. Two of the groups get together once a month while the other one, every other month. It's a lot of fun and I don't miss performing in gigs anymore.

A guitar player who I met four years ago has gotten together with a very hot drummer and has asked me to play some bass on his original songs. The songs sound like the stuff that Kurt Cobain and Nervana used to play. These guys are very intense in what they are doing...staying up late recording, getting together almost daily, etc. I've always told them that I can't get together as much as they but probably can help with the recordings. The guitar player is in his late 20's and the drummer is 24......when not playing music, their topics of discussion sound like the stuff that my kids talk about. I've tried to tell them that they should look for a bass player more their age but they keep telling me that they like my playing. I can't imagine when I was their age, playing with people my age. My wife tells me that I should be honored that musicians that young would want to play with me.....but it still feels strange to me.