Too small to play bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ck98ac4, May 18, 2001.

1. ck98ac4

May 18, 2001
    Denver, CO
    I am an experienced drummer and my wife has played other instruments as well. She has expressed a strong interest in learning bass guitar. The problem is neither of us knows if she has long enough arms and fingers to effectively play bass. She is 5'2" and has fairly small hands and short arms and fingers. Obviously adult bass guitars aren't available in an infinite array of sizes, will it be a problem for her to find a quality instrument that fits her?

If you do think it would work, what does a decent complete rig cost? We would like something fairly nice she could grow into vs. grow out of...any specific suggestions on brands, models, etc. Also, what about starting out with 5 (if it fits her) or 6 (probably not) string vs. 4?

Thanks in advance for your replies!

2. Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Hmm... she probably should pick up a 4-string (slimmer neck).

3. MJB

Mar 17, 2000
  4. notduane

Nov 24, 2000
    No pun/offense intended, but ya' might wanna' consider
    a "short scale" (30" vs 34") bass. Some good ones that
    come to mind are the Epiphone Rivoli (I & II) and the
    Ampeg AMB1. Fender's Stu Hamm model is kinda' in-between.
    I think it's scale is about 32". Rickenbacker may still make
    a short scale model (3001?). Rick's also tend to have
    narrow necks too. I think the Fender 'Bronco' has a 30" scale.

You can get an idea of the prices of some of these at Musician's Friend.

D'ohh! Welcome to TB dude :D
  5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member