1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Torn Between Old and New

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Orpheus55, Jun 22, 2014.

1. I've been playing semi-professionally for 45+ years. In my early 60s, I "downsized" to a PF500 head and a wonderful Avatar Neo 210 cab (which I am keeping). Like many have reported here and elsewhere, my PF500 has been--of late--problematic (cut-outs, slow turn-ons, etc.). Part of me wants to stay with the great lightness of class D micro amps (thinking BX500), whereas a little voice in my ear is saying: get the old-style, solid Hartke HL500. I am well aware and familiar with the EQ differences (just like my old bassman EQ) and the different control layouts. I'm thinking the LH500 would be a more durable and reliable unit, and I like the simplicity of the controls. And yet, the lure of "featherweight" amps persists (Fender's newer 500 watt entry is tempting). I play in a lot of sketchy electric venues here in SW FL and wonder if that could be a factor with the class D amps cutting out and generally frustrating me. 23 lbs. is not an obstacle, as I lift way more than that every morning. Any thoughts?

2. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    I have had that head for two years without a hiccup. The sound is great, and at 2am, it's nice to carry your head and bass to the car with one hand. Great sound as well.

3. I would gladly carry the head and bass out in two hands (instead of one) if I could feel confident in the heads reliability.

4. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    Do a search here. Lots of good feedback. I'm happy my Trace elliot rig sits in my closet.

5. RoadRanger

RoadRanger Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2004
    NE CT