1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Torn between two basses... any Roscoe/Warwick session players?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RizzleB, Nov 25, 2017.

1. Warwick Thumb BO

2. Roscoe SKB Standard 4 (Aguilar pickups)

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. RizzleB

RizzleB

Nov 25, 2017
    I'm replacing my "pawn shop starter P bass" after a year and a half of playing (spending ~$2k). I'm an aspiring engineer/producer that's made the decision that bass guitar would make a great supplemental instrument to help me produce my own hip hop tunes (Dr.Dre/Jake One/Alchemist vein), study tonality, and communicate theory-wise with clients.
    I hung out at my local store today torn between a Warwick Thumb and a used Roscoe SKB w/ Aguilar pickups (4 strings). I'm not slapping quite yet, but since Flea, Mike Gordon, Tim Commerford, etc. are big influences of mine, I'd like to set myself up for this in the future. Some reggae freedom would be nice too as you can throw Eric Wilson on the list.

My confusion comes from the idea that my hands loved the Warwick and that growl made my neck hairs stand up, but I'm told I would get more tonal versatility out of the Roscoe (keep in mind, this is for studio application). To me, the Roscoe appeared to have PBass pickups, but the store clerk insisted it was actually a Victor Wootenesque pick-up configuration that makes for a "slap machine?" When I hit the Roscoe, I loved the tone and even recalled thinking "this would sit really well in a mix" but the Warwick had something unique (aside from the 10 extra pounds). Any thoughts? Similar experiences?

2. Mark76

Mark76

Dec 1, 2015
    Leicester
    10 extra pounds?

I hope that's pounds sterling and not pounds avoirdupois; otherwise that's one heavy bass and probably better suited for Black Sabbath covers. :smug:

3. kesslari