Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Total amateur

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lakerkobe, Jul 1, 2002.

1. lakerkobe

lakerkobe

Jun 17, 2002
    Portland, OR
    Yes.. I am a complete beginner at playing bass. I bought 2 basses because I don't get out much and bought them off the net(confined to house due to health reasons, so I could not get to a music shop to tst them). I have a DeArmond Pilot Deluxe and a Washburn xb-900. Now that I am reading all of the polls and opinions here, I am considering selling them both and just getting one bass that will do all I want it to(as if I would know what that is at this point). Should I sell them both and get a MIA Fender Precision Deluxe or Jazz Deluxe? And if the answer is yes.... which of those 2 should I get? I have smaller hands, so I need a neck that will do well for them. I hear the Precision Deluxe is VERY versatile.

2. misterk73

misterk73

Apr 11, 2002
    Flagstaff, AZ
    If you're truly brand new to bass, I'd keep ONE of the basses you bought, sell the other, and start learning to play before you worry about what kind of gear you may or may not need. Just my $.02, of course...

3. lakerkobe

lakerkobe

Jun 17, 2002
    Portland, OR
    I agree with you actually in a way... and I am sure most people would. But I have heard so many good things about MIA Fenders.... and I love the look of the Jazz bass. If I sold both of these others I would have about enough to get either the Jazz or the Precision Fender MIA... and everybody raves about their sound.

4. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    The DeArmond is an excellent bass, so I would keep it unless I really didn't like it. I can't make a comment on the Washburn, but I've never really liked Washburn's bass designs.