Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Total Beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nevhision, Sep 8, 2005.

1. Nevhision

Nevhision

Sep 8, 2005
    I'm a current Bassoon player. So, I curently come from a very classical background. However, I got into Bela Fleck, then Victor Wooten. I've been inspired to pick up bass. What's a good bass to start on thats under $400?

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Fender MIM Precision or Jazz. Or just about anything in that price range. $400 basses are actually not bad these days. Cheap basses these days are a lot better than they were 20 years ago. I would stay away from Sam Ash and Guitar Center house brands like Carlo Robelli and Rogue, though. I've heard of many expensive problems with them.

3. BoiNtC

BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    If you're truly dedicated and are willing to spend more a Fender MIA Precision or Jazz would be slightly better in quality control, although I've played some MIMs that played better than MIA, Fenders seem to be hit or miss especially with the MIM models, if you're just trying to toy around and see if you like it, the SX basses are quite highly regarded around here. www.rondomusic.net

4. Matt H

Matt H

Jul 30, 2005
    Ithaca, NY
    a wise man once told "buy used and play for free"

400 bucks (in the used range) is a LITTLE bit awkward... if you can come up with another hundred, you've got used american made instruments becoming a reality...

however- if you spend LESS than 400 bucks, you can get those decent entry level ones used a lot cheaper,and have more money left over to put into an amp or something.

5. MTD Kingston!

6. I second the eBay route.

If you want new, then check with Guitar Center and Sam Ash, they get pretty competetive with pricing.

~Ryan

7. adouglas

adouglas

Jun 23, 2003