Total Newbie

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Whore, Mar 23, 2002.

1. Whore

Mar 23, 2002
    I have been playing guitar for several years and decided last week that I would get myself a bass to learn on. Most of the shops around here (eastern Canada) have very expensive basses and shipping from other areas in Canada or the US tends to be very expensive. Originally I was looking an an acoustic bass, but I have read that they would need to be amplified to be heard anyway because the sound was low and I wouldn't be able to afford a decent one.
    A friend of mine offered to sell me his BC Rich Warlock Platinum series for $250 CDN (approx $160 US). I have been reading a lot of negative comments on this bass throughout this forum, but I am wondering if considering the dollar amount and my absolute beginner status would this bass be suitable for learning on?
    This is not an instance of me thinking that a guitar looking a certian way means it will be better or worse because I didn't even know what the warlock looked like until a few days ago and I would hope a outgrew the "That looks cool so I must have it" phase of life about 10-15 years ago :)
    Just wonding if this guitar is good enough to learn the basics on (I know any bass may do for basics, but I wouldn't want to pick up bad habits from a bad design or something that would have a long term impact on learning). Thanks for any help.
  2. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    That's a very flattering screen name you got there.

(See how it detracts attention from your questions, making me not to answer them? ;))
  3. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Ah well, to answer the question, yes, it is suitable learning the basics on. Pretty much any bass is. Just make sure that the bass is in good condition: that the neck isn't twisted, the electronics are in healthy condition and the frets don't give excessive buzzing in specific spots.

Welcome to our little world! :D
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member