Totaly Newbie Need Help Choosing Best Bass for cheap

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by deathtrigga, May 11, 2005.

1. deathtrigga

May 11, 2005
    Hello all im new here as u can probably tell by the title of this thread. I have a question im really interested in learning the bass but i no nothing at all about it, and my friends want to start a band and want me to join after learning bass. I have a question, i would like to no what bass to start off with as a beginner, i want something thats really worth it but not to expensive. My friend suggested a Fender Standard P Bass. I looked into it but its kind of expensive, about 400dollars. I was wondering if there is anything cheaper that has good value to it and that is worth it. Please leave any comments and or suggestions as to what i can do, Thank-you .

PS: i would idealy like to spend to mayb 300 at the max mayb a little bit more but it depends. thanks again
  2. BartmanPDX

BartmanPDX Supporting Member

I'd look into the mega-thread on SX basses.

SX bass thread

The consensus seems to be you can't do much better than the SX basses for under $400 new. You'll save enough that you can buy yourself a decent combo amp.

SX P-type basses start at $109, Jazz-type basses start at $119. SOme people have reported them to be of higher build quality (body, neck) than the regular Fender basses, which are made in Mexico. The SX basses are made in China, where labor is ridiculously cheap.

They're only available at:
    Rondo music
  3. I am also new to the bass, and music in general (At the beginning of week 2 of my self-imposed intensive training regime), and probably in no position to be giving advice.

In my experience, though, I've found Yamahas to be well above the rest of the basses I've tried in the lower price range. I did have trouble with the input jack, but I just opened up the back and tightened something that should have been tighter, and problem solved.