Tough decision (4str or 6str)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bobbykokinos, Feb 2, 2006.

1. Guys, I have a dilemma here.

I've been playing close to 16 years and have never ordered a custom bass. I think its about time to treat myself to something. I've spent several years buying basses which is like "well, this bass has something great i like. But I own another bass for this feature". I think its time to build something that has everything I want.

The problem is, I dont know if I want to go with a 6 string or a 4 string. Ive been playing a 6 since 1996 and feel comfortable with it. But, as of lately (the past year), the more I play double bass, the more I play 4 string. But, the thing is I feel equally comfortable with both basses. This is the biggest hold up from getting a custom bass right now.

I feel if I get a 6 string, I might think to myself eventually think that "well, maybe I should've got the 4 because I'm playing 4 more now lately".. But, I'm also afraid if I get a 4, I might eventually think " hey, its a custom bass. I should go all out on it and get a 6 string since I'm capable of playing one".

Any suggestions? I know, ultimately, it is up to me but I'm just curious what you all would do in this situation. I currently own both great 4 strings and 6 strings that I'm happy with. But I find myself playing my 4 jazz for its slap sound and my 6 string for its great finger style sound. I'd like to have one bass that sound superb in both situations.

Edit: also, in the back of my head there is the idea of a 5 string with a high C. But, for some reason, 5 string necks have never felt right in my hands. I feel more comfortable with 4 & 6 instead of a 5
  2. GSRLessard14

GSRLessard14 All-Things-Claypool Enthusiast

Jun 23, 2005
    Newington, CT
    That's a tough one. The only real solution is to go with a double neck!
  3. ha, yeah right. I feel like keeping my back is phsyical working order for the next few years :)
  4. adept_inept

Jan 9, 2006