Tough time getting good at bass guitar

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BassPlayer900, Oct 19, 2011.

1. BassPlayer900

BassPlayer900

Oct 19, 2011
    I've been playing guitar for 9 years. Last year, I started developing a bit of an interest in bass. This year, I started listening to Rush and then I decided to spend some money on a starter kit for bass. I bought a Silvertone starter kit 4 months ago. I really love playing bass, more than I love playing guitar. After I got the bass I got some Rush tab for it.

Well anyway, I feel like I am not doing a good job. Sometimes I feel like I'm doing alright. Most of the time I feel like I'm really bad at it. I like to play songs and play some improv on it every day. I usually play for more than 5 minutes a day. I like playing with a pick, because it sounds too quiet for me when I use my fingers, and it brings out a nice, piano sound. So what can I do to get better? Should I be practicing for hours more than usual? Or try getting better at using my fingers? I'd definitely like to improve a lot. :bassist:

2. Mayers

Mayers Guest

Sep 28, 2007
    well ... playing more than 5 minutes à day will really help...

3. grass132456

grass132456

Sep 12, 2011
    I love putting on some headphones, blast musinc on iPod, crank up the bass amp and just jam. That is how I figured out how to play. And print some chordsheets too will help.

4. sammyp

sammyp

Aug 20, 2010
    NB, Canada
    "improve a lot" and '5 minutes ad day" do not go hand in hand ....epecially if you are looking at hard stuff like Rush .....immerse yourself!

5. BassPlayer900

BassPlayer900

Oct 19, 2011
    Ok, thanks! :bassist:

6. If somebody has to tell you that you need to play for more than 5 minutes a day, then you need to probably just put it down and find something else that actually does interest you.

you should be bugging the entire family because you have that thing in your hands constantly. Talent is wonderful, but it means jack without drive.