1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

tplyons' Alis Baritone Acoustic Progress Thread

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by tplyons, Nov 7, 2006.

1. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    First of all, I'm not good at keeping secrets I'm this excited about. I'm having a guitar custom built!

It's being made by Alis (pronounced like Elise) and is being made to the following specs:

Alis Baritone Acoustic Guitar:
    Top: Lutz Spruce
    Back/Sides: Primavera
    Fingerboard: Ebony
    Neck: Honduran Mahogany w/Purpleheart and Carbon Fiber Lamination
    Bindings: Snakewood
    Single Cutaway shape, Florentine Cutaway (pointy)
    28-5/8 Scale, 14 frets cleared from body

And my progress pics so far:
    [​IMG]
    Snakewood Blocks for tail wedge

[​IMG]
    Top joined, planed and rosette installed.

[​IMG]
    Primavera back and sides.

2. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Keep it coming...

3. awesome Tim, I can't wait to see the finished product!

4. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Me neither... I can't wait for more progress pictures, it's been over a week :crying:

5. SamJ

SamJ Founder - Fender MIA Club

Apr 22, 2006
    PDX / SFO / HNL
    Yeah Tim, that back is going to look awesome! I think this is going to be one of those guitars that will always inspire you to play your best when ever you pick it up!

I'm subscribed to this thread!

6. SamJ

Apr 22, 2006
    PDX / SFO / HNL
    btw.. what sort of bracing patterns are you doing? Forward shifted X? is it going to be scalloped? etc..

7. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    And it's a funny story how this all started:

I grew up a metalhead. My first guitar was a Epiphone Les Paul, sold that and picked up an Ibanez 7 string. Liked the low tuning, but didn't find it useful. That was the end of my B string for a while.