1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. We are aware of an issue affecting search results for classifieds searches and advanced search functions.  Actively working on a fix, thanks for your patience!

Traben Standard 4G Volume Knob never worked - missing wire?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bassbolle, Jun 2, 2017.

1. bassbolle

bassbolle

Jun 2, 2017
    Dear Basses and Bassettes,

I am fairly new to the realm of electric music and got myself a traben 4G standard (or traben array standard in the US I think) to start, it has 2 active pickups with a 3band equalizer. It's fun and I like it a lot, but I noticed that one of the knobs doesn't have any effect, and later learnt that this is the volume knob.

I bought it online and don't want to ship it back for warranty, rather take care of it myself. I took a picture of the wiring and thought maybe one could help me here. Right below the yellow cable binder is the knob/poti in question, the upper contact is connected to the poti casing, the bottom one to a white wire going where it belongs I guess. But the center one doesn't have any wire.

So maybe, if I'm really lucky, someone else has a traben 4G and could just take a picture of his wires and tell me if this needs to be connected to anything.

best Wishes,
    Patrick

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 3, 2017
  2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I don't have one, but surely somebody here does.

Either way, Welcome to TalkBass!!!!

3. Crater

Crater

Oct 12, 2011
    Dallas, TX area
    If your volume doesn't work but the bass is making sound, then it sounds like the ground wire is not connected to the volume pot.

4. bassbolle

bassbolle

Jun 2, 2017
    Thank you for the warm welcome!