SOLD Trace Elliot GP12 SMX 250w 115 Combo

Discussion in 'For Sale: Amps, Preamps, and Cabinets' started by Razman, Dec 8, 2015.

1. Razman

Razman

Feb 10, 2005
    Orange Park, FL
    Price:
    Trace Elliot GP12 SMX 250w 115 Combo

The early 90’s… The Hubble telescope was launched into orbit; Operation Desert Storm began. Slick Willie took office, and Gore created the Internet. Duran Duran charted again with their single Ordinary World, propelling them back into prominence, and I graduated high school. Zubas were in at the time I think, so also was rolling up your pants, but let’s not go too far back down memory lane. The main point here is that Trace Elliot created this fine example of British gear, the GP12 SMX bass amplifier.

Driven by their legendary power section that has achieved its own standard of output measurement (common referred to as “Trace Watts” – a standard by which all other amplifiers are judged) this amp combined a blendable solid state and tube input section, a 12 band EQ, their classic preset sounds (#1 is my favorite) and a dual-band onboard compressor (for highs and lows). Emblazoned with a green face that fluoresce under a black light, these amps defined the sound of many bands of that era.

Now, you too can own one of these classic amps and relive that sound you loved (or live it for the first time if you were born in the ‘90s – how cool is that, you little whipper snapper?) This particular example has been weighed in the balances of time and found itself to be quite worthy. It comes complete with authentic battle damage (no phony relic-ing like what Fender does) from years of service to the everyday bassist. If only it could speak, the stories of bar fights in smoky dive bars it could share (although we can now read them on TB, but I digress… again…)