1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Trademarking the band name?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by hrodbert696, Oct 16, 2013.

1. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

So in other news (if anyone's also following the originals band thread I started)... I started playing in an oldies band - Elvis, early Beatles, Tommy James and the Shondelles, that kind of stuff. We're getting the set list together, tightening up, anticipating finding gigs. An email goes around from the singer today that to register the band name with the patent office (I assume he means to trademark it?) will cost $480. I wasn't even aware that we had settled on a name! I'm sure it's premature at the very least to drop money on a trademark when we haven't even played a gig yet.

My question, though, is when do you EVER do this? How many guys out there have registered band names, was it worth it, at what point did you decide to do it?

2. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    I do. It's a great name and we are a gigging band. Around here it was about $300.

3. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2001
    Kenosha, WI 53140
    Don't remember how much we paid, but the old mail it to yourself or poor man's copywrite doesn't hold water these days. Fill out the paperwork and submit it if you really find it needed. It is a one time fee and then you are assured that it is legal and yours.

4. nojj

nojj Guest

May 20, 2013
    Make SURE you do your homework and find out the name/domain is not currently in use.

5. ChrisB2

ChrisB2 Bass... in your fass

Feb 27, 2008
    TalkBass > Off Topic
    ^ Yes, first move is to find out if you actually can claim it as yours.