Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Transitioning from 5 to 6 String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JOME77, Sep 20, 2004.

1. JOME77

JOME77 Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2002
    Georgia
    Any tips out there from players that have transitioned from 5 to 6 string basses? I've been playing 5's exclusively since 1989 but just sold my Roscoe LG 3005 and have a Roscoe SKB-3006 headed my way. I've found myself playing more and more gigs where I have to read charts/music and thought that it might be easier to play in positon on a 6 string. Hopefully I haven't bit off more than I can chew! :eek:

2. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Man, you'll be fine. Just go back to square one and practice scales and arpeggios using the high C string. Take it real slow and say the note names out loud while you do it. I give it a week.

When I do a reading gig, I actually rarely use the high C. It just sounds out of place. The string is just too thin. I prefer to move up the neck. That C string is oh so beautiful for chording and soloing though.

3. Stevious G

Stevious G

May 5, 2003
    I found going from a 4 to a 5 to be a real hastle. I was forever stumbling over that low B. Any 6'er, however, that I've ever pick'd up, I've been able to play with very little trouble. The C just isn't much of a stumbling block. I can't wait for my 6ers to arrive!

4. Blademaster Dez

Blademaster Dez

May 12, 2004
    I too think you'll be fine. I made the recent jump from 5 to 6 as well. Give it a week, and you'll be used to it. I do agree that some things are just easier for me to play on a 6-string (i.e. some Disney stuff I'd play for the kids when I used to teach kindergarten) with regards to fingering, positioning, speed, etc.