Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

transposition problem: major becomes minor

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by pippin, Feb 24, 2006.

1. pippin

pippin

Dec 29, 2005
    santa cruz,ca
    As a new bassist I find a lack of old standards' melody lines written in bass clef and in C where it is easier for me, at least, to start. I have gone on line and read about transpositioning and done some key changes and shifting the notes down to the bass clef. I have had some success but often my results come out sounding "minor". Can anyone give me any hints as to what I'm doing worng.

Or, can anyone give me a website that automatically does these transpositing for me. Chordie does chords ( naturally) but I haven't found anything for straight melody lines. Or is it a copywrite issue?

thanks

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Your best bet is to learn treble clef. Not a hard thing to do.

I've been meaning to learn tenor clef. I'll make a pact with you -- you learn treble and I'll learn tenor :)

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Welll...the 3rd of the chord is what gives it its minor 'colour' ..so maye you should pay particular attention to these ?? :p

4. SteveS

SteveS Guest

"As a new bassist I find a lack of old standards' melody lines written in bass clef and in C where it is easier for me, at least, to start. I have gone on line and read about transpositioning and done some key changes and shifting the notes down to the bass clef. I have had some success but often my results come out sounding "minor". Can anyone give me any hints as to what I'm doing worng."