1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Traynor TC410 & TC115 -- phase issues?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by corganmurray, Apr 4, 2018.

1. corganmurray

corganmurray

Feb 10, 2012
    Hey guys,

Bit of an amp noob here. My band has recently started to play bigger gigs and my 1x15 combo isn't cutting it anymore, so yesterday I pulled the trigger on a Traynor TC410 cab from Long & McQuade, and I was planning to follow that up with a Traynor TC115, so I'd have a 4x10 + 1x15 stack (I'm still saving up for a head)

After doing some searching around this site, I've found dozens of threads where people in a similar situation were warned that combining two non-matching cabs like that will likely lead to some phase issues, and it'd be better to just have two matching cabs.

That said, I've never found a thread where the original poster came back and confirmed or even mentioned the phase stuff after the fact, and the Traynor site itself suggests combining these two cabs, so is this a legitimate concern, or can I trust in Traynor's suggestion or what?

Sorry if I've reopened a can of worms here, and if someone can point me to an existing thread that I somehow missed, that'd be great!

Cheers!

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    Your 1x15 will be getting the same amount of watts as your 4x10. That's another problem besides comb filtering.

Matching stackable cabs is the way to go.

BassmanPaul likes this.
  3. You'll find that the going consensus on Talkbass would be to get 2 of the same cab.

4. GrapeBass

GrapeBass

Jun 10, 2004
    Toronto
    Graphic designer: Yorkville Sound