1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Traynor YT-15 2x15" Cab... good deal?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lecollectif, Jun 4, 2004.

1. Lecollectif

Lecollectif

Mar 2, 2004
    Toronto
    Hi Everyone.

I'm fairly new to playing bass. A friend of mine aquired an old Traynor YT-15 2x15" cab. He offered it to me for $175 Canadian, which roughly translates to $230-50USD. He says that it's in good shape. Is this a good deal?

Also, what kind of head should I get for this thing, in order to get the most out of it?

Thanks.

2. retrohwam

retrohwam Guest

Apr 20, 2004
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Lecollectif - might want to change the batteries in your calculator: $175 Canadian would roughly be $130 USD.

If the speakers aren't shot - it's probably a fair deal.

3. Lecollectif

Lecollectif

Mar 2, 2004
    Toronto
    Wow. What was I thinking? It's early, cut me some slack.

But thanks. I'm going to check it out today.

Also, anything on the type of head?

4. josh_m

josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl
    I just got a YT-15 for US$125, so yes I would say it's a fair deal. First things first you will need to open up the back and wire it in parallel, the speakers are 8ohms wired in series. If I remember correctly it was built to be used with the YBA-1. I am going to try a BX3000T with it once I get my funds straightened out. If you can find an old Traynor 16Ohm head (a YBA-1, YBA-2, etc.) you don't need to rewire the speakers and will have the original Traynor sound.