TRB vs BB !!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tomdabass, May 10, 2004.

Which one would you prefer: TRB or BB???

Poll closed May 24, 2004.
  1. TRB

60 vote(s)
  2. BB

38 vote(s)
  1. tomdabass

Apr 19, 2004
    Please post Your arguments!!!
  2. Funky Doctor

Funky Doctor

Aug 28, 2003
    I own 2 TRB's from the early 90's, one is a TRB4, the other, a TRB6-P, and man, they are such a breeze to play. Never really taken by the BB series though...
  3. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    I'll vote for a BB since I currently own a BB404. I've owned TRB's also and I think both are great. As others have said, Yamaha is a very under rated company. That is especially true of used Yamahas.
  4. jusplayinmybass

Apr 17, 2003
    Conyers, Ga
    Keith McMillan Instruments, SIT Strings, Accugroove Cabinets
    I've been playing a TRB6P exclusively for 9 years. I must say that it is a joy to play. The only way for me to go from here is to a custom bass. As for the BB's, the only one I would really consider owning is an old BB5000A. That bass was almost like a TRB feel wise. Different electronics and shape. But a nice bass. I'm not big on the newer BB's. YMMV

B Easy
  5. I voted for TRB, but Tony Kanal of no doubt (solid player) has used a bb1500 and 3000 for most of his career. I would aggree that Yamaha's are underrated instruments.
  6. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    The BB is more rock-oriented than the TRB, which is essentially intended for funk-fusion.

This means I won't vote. It's apples and oranges.
  7. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002