Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Treacle: What got you started on bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by 4StringFox, Jan 9, 2004.

1. (In celebration of my beautiful new bass, I have decided to emerge from the lurking depths and post a real thread! Hi everybody)

What got you started playing bass? Did you try it on your own, or did someone encourage you? Is there anyone out there who "always wanted" to play bass? What other training or skills did you have before you started?

I've had very little formal music training, but I've got about 10 years experience in choirs and musical theater, enough to get around sheet music and talk the talk some. In my early teens I tried guitar and piano, both on my own and with lessons, and it always seemed like I was struggling really hard and making no progress at all. I decided maybe I wasn't cut out for instruments and had better stick to singing.
    Then, this past September, I was hanging out with my good friend Julie, who plays "everything." Conversation went as such:
    Me: I'm bored.
    Julie: Me too.
    Me: Teach me something.
    Julie: Ok. [drops bass in my lap] Play this.

She's been coaching me ever since, and it's been a totally different experience -- playing bass feels natural, not like a struggle at all, and the more time I spend with it the more excited I get about it. Even if I never join a band or play a gig, I'm hooked for good.

So that's my story -- those of you who are still awake, what's yours?

2. the great one

the great one

Jan 25, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ever since I could talk I always asked my parents to buy me a bass guitar, but they never did. Four years ago I took my scholarship money and bought myself a Squier P-Bass and taught myself to play it. It was fairly easy to learn since I have rhythm in my blood - African

3. Jason Carota