1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tremor in bowing arm

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by Torgi49, May 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Torgi49

Torgi49

Jul 1, 2013
    San Marcos, CA
    I'm an older player (66) and have only been playing for 6 years (not counting 2 in junior high school 50 sum years ago. I have recently developed an intermittent problem during arco passages. My right arm will tremor, sometimes sever enough to cause the bow to bounce off the strings. I've been to doctors and been advised it's not Parkinsons, but some sort of application specific tremor which might be treatable with botox injections (SAY WHAT?) I'm not inclined to go that route. Does anyone have any experience with this problem?

2. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

I'm no medical expert and haven't experienced your symptoms, but on the face of it, it sounds as though your muscles are "pinching" a nerve which is causing a muscle spasm. If that's a correct diagnosis than Botox to kill the muscle tissue that is activating the nerve may indeed work. As a relatively safe experiment you could try having a Doctor inject some Cortisone into your forearm muscles which might provide relief for a while, and if it does, it would help confirm the diagnosis. You could also try things like lowering or raising your end-pin, sitting versus standing or vice versa, or using a bow with a different shaped frog. or a different grip. Any of those things might work too, IMO. Good luck.

3. Remyd

Remyd

Apr 2, 2014
    St. Louis, MO
    Have had a similar trouble as a side-effect of blood pressure medicine, so don't discount outside sources. Have you changed meds/diet/job/stress/wife/location/hair color?

4. Torgi49

Torgi49

Jul 1, 2013
    San Marcos, CA