Tried Ampeg SVT3pro and GB Shuttle 6.0. What now?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by randysmojo, Oct 15, 2011.

1. randysmojo

randysmojo

Jan 14, 2008
    Temple, TX
    I've been playing on an Ampeg SVT-3pro for a couple of months and although I can get some pretty good tones out,of it, it's just not articulate enough for my taste. A friend letter me borrow his Genz Benz Shuttle 6.0 this weekend to try, and although it definitely had the articulation I want, it was too hifi sounding. Can anyone tell me what amps would get a faster articulation with a warmer tone? Somewhere between the Ampeg and Genz? I've seen a GK 700RB and an SWR 550X at a local shop, but I never have the time to drag my gear in and try different amps out. I'm not limited to those either. Just a starting point to get some thoughts going. THANKS!!

2. cableguy

cableguy

Jun 4, 2009
    North Bend, WA
    Not sure what style of music you are playing or cab you are using, but you might look at the GK 700RB-II. I bought mine used for $325. They pop up on the TB classified now and then too. Listen to some of the stuff Norm Stockton has done and he uses a GK RB series as well as many others. I think you would call it articulate. Part of the reason I say this amp, is it sounds different than the ampeg and shuttle. Maybe falling a little closer to the shuttle 6 end of the tone spectrum but with a little more bottom end to my ears. The GK is also a workhorse amp.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Mesa M6 Carbine.

4. cableguy

cableguy

Jun 4, 2009
    North Bend, WA
    ^^^^This is a damn good amp too!

5. randysmojo

randysmojo

Jan 14, 2008
    Temple, TX
    I'm using a Genz Benz NeoX-212T cabinet and playing different styles. Country, classic rock, blues, r&b, and I'm starting to work on jazz, and funk a lot.

6. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member