trouble in in the back HELP

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by BrandonTurner, Jan 25, 2003.

1. HELP!! So this evening after work I went to practice and I took my bass out ( 1880's tryrolean flatback). I bowed and there was no volume!!! I was like "what the @#$% !" I looked down at my bass and through the F holes I could see the carpet. The back of my bass had popped badly! About the whole bottom left side had come off. It will be a little bit before I can see my luthier and I am obviously not going to play it, but should I take the strings and bridge off? Take the sound post out?
    I am also an aspiring luthier so I would like to bounce my theory on why this happened off some pro's. I bought the bass last april in arizona. I live in maine. It had been restored out there with new back braces and several other things. By the looks of the way it popped off, it is because the back braces bowed. Not a simple seam pop, because I can't even push the back to touch the ribs. Probably because of the brutal cold and dryness that we have had here. But did these braces bow because they were green wood? Am I right? Or does this happen to all back braces? Also is there a good way to tell if it is green wood? Is there anything I can do?
    Any help is appreciated!!!
    Thanks !!!
    Brandon Turner
  2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    This happened to a Lakeberg and Baer that we have at work. We called a luthier and he told us to take the tension off the strings and let the sound post drop - post haste!

Then take it to him for repair...
  3. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA