Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Trouble with my V-Type...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Irishbass, Oct 10, 2005.

1. My beloved Trace Elliot V-Type pre-amp went down on me recently, I live in Ireland so this is the 220v unit. I seems that the power transformer is damaged and since TE are no longer manufacturing the V-Type I have been unable to get a replacement in Ireland. The repair shop tells me thay would need a proper circuit diagram (which I dont have) of the unit in order to find out the specs for the transformer and maybe get a generic one or a re-wind done. I am not technical enough to carry out any repairs myself so I am wondering if anyone out there can point me in the right direction? I really love the pre and would hate to just let it go without at least trying everything I can to source the part needed to get it working. Any help appreciated very much....

2. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

I not into amp repair but can't say I have ever heard anyone mention a power transformer regarding a preamp. That's a power section thing. I'll check with a friend who should know though.

Anyway, for power sections there are tons of transformers (not cheap cause transformers are usually the more expensive component in the amp and the heart of it) but to my knowledge there is no magic to them any more than tubes. So if they can be replaced in the power section, you should be able to track down what you need and there may be some coding on the exterior to help nail it down. Don't know but I think you stand a good chance. There are plenty of suppliers and people in the know. I'm just not one of them but you should be able to track something down without too much trouble I'd think.