True Temperament Frets

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 3bc, Oct 13, 2021 at 9:26 PM.

1. 3bc

3bc Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2010
    Chicago Burbs
    Anyone have a TT fretted instrument and feel like it is worth the huge expense?

I was reading about it the other day and it seems like complete snake oil. I.e. the intonation on the average guitar is bad enough that you should really want a TT fretted instrument, but the TT fretted instrument doesn’t change things so much that it will create dissonance when playing with a guitarist that doesn’t have a TT fretted instrument. It’s either a big deal or it’s not, and they can’t seem to decide. And they look freaky and ugly as sin. Also I feel that with a good setup on a quality instrument, intonation should be almost completely dead on anyhow, with maybe Frank Zappa and Rick Beato's son being able to perceive a single cent sharp or flat.

Seems very pedantic and silly, but I have no firsthand experience and I am open to hearing from others who have firsthand experience what it’s all about.

Cheers!

2. franklindayala

franklindayala

Feb 8, 2015
    PERÚ
    Or you could use a fretless bass.

Jeff Scott, gebass6, rtav and 7 others like this.
  3. joelns

joelns

Mar 10, 2014
    Here's my take.... It looks like a great idea at first. But if you're playing with others, who are NOT tuned to the same true temperment system, your intonation will be off and you're the one that will sound out of tune. It's either everyone in the group, or none of them. I hope that made sense.

Peter Torning likes this.
  4. Lackey

Lackey

May 10, 2002
    Los Angeles
    That's a useless rabbit hole IMO. Some guitarists barely ever even tune (Frusciante)

Jeff Scott and zontar like this.
  5. GHOST AT

GHOST AT

May 24, 2011
    Just looking at a bass with true temperament frets makes me dizzy!

3bc likes this.
  6. smeet

smeet Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2006
    Woodland Hills, CA