Trying out for friends is harder than for strangers

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by caeman, May 16, 2012.

1. caeman

caeman The Root Master

Sep 17, 2008
    Ohio
    I tried out for a local Irish band this past Monday. I have known the band members since they formed the band, and many years before then. I have followed their career all this time and have always enjoyed their music. Their bassist was moving on to another city and since I had been playing bass for a few years now, they asked me try out. I felt complimented. Very much so. They had five others express an interest in trying out. Over time, 4 would drop out as they found out about the time commitment, leaving it me against one other guy.

I was nervous.

I shouldn't have been nervous, as I already knew all of the songs. I already have all their CDs and listen to them often.

But, I was nervous.

I wasn't nervous when I tried out for and made it into the The Bible Blues Band. I wasn't nervous when I tried out for and made it into Whose Standing -- a short-lived southern rock gospel band. I wasn't nervous when I tried out for and made it at a church that I ended up playing at for 14 minutes at their primary bassist.

These were my friends.

And I was nervous.

It was a very weird feeling. Maybe because they asked me to try out? Maybe because if I flubbed up in front of strangers, I would never see them again?

Anywho, I will find out by May 22nd that I won the spot. :) I am confident I will get it. Otherwise, why even try?

2. Tat2dHeart

Tat2dHeart Only two strings away from an attitude problem.

Good luck, Chad. Hope you got it.

3. dnosewor

dnosewor

Apr 14, 2009
    I don't know what it is but the only time I ever get nervous at a show is when I know there are going to be friends and family in the audience. For me I think it's a self confidence thing. I know that those people will be watching me specifically.