1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Trying to choose between SBMM and EBMM Stingray

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ever, Apr 4, 2016.

1. ever

ever

Feb 1, 2016
    Hi, this is my first post in the forums, though I have read them extensively for a few months now. :p

I've been playing bass for a few months as well and I'm planning on acquiring a new one in a few more months (probably late June) and I really want a Stingray. I'm basically trying to decide whether I should save the extra money to get a used EBMM Stingray over a used SBMM Ray34. I've unfortunately not been able to play either, but I've played a few SBMM subs at the guitar center closest to me (that was all they had at the time and its a bit of a trip so I don't want to drive up there until I'm closer to making an actual purchase).

I currently have a Squier short scale and I initially wanted a P bass when I was ready to commit and save for better gear, but they haven't felt right to me the way the SBMM sub did.

Anyways, the main question is: it is going to be more worthwhile in the long run to save and get the real deal?

2. mrpackerguy

mrpackerguy Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Definitely go for the used EBMM Stingray. You won't be sorry. Great feel and will have excellent resale vale for you if need be.

Ikkir and Planespotter like this.
  3. Catbuster

Catbuster Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2010
    Louisville, KY.
    Like Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terell said: "Ain't nothing like the real thing."

Get the Stingray. It's worth it.